Today I started the day with a glass of pure water and scrambled eggs (1 whole, 2 whites) w/cheddar wrapped in wheat tortilla followed by 1 tiny square of dark chocolate. Yes, I can't resist a bit of dessert first thing in the morning and the Swiss Delice 72% dark chocolate squares from Costco are the perfect way to tell the body that the meal is over!
I knew I was in trouble when I was ready for my morning snack by 9:15am. I used my magic bullet to blend the orange/banana/strawberry protein shake that I packed for work. Sure enough I was hungry again by 11am so I ate my celery w/organic peanut butter too.
Lunch was at 12:30pm. Leftovers from dinner last night--Spaghetti Squash w/Ground Turkey Meat Sauce...followed by another piece of dark chocolate. It was very satisfying but I knew I wouldn't last until supper.
Work closed early but my husband & I decided to stay around. We checked Buskids and our kid's school buses were still running so we didn't feel the need to leave. All the better to get more work done! Unfortunately, of all days to not pack enough food, today was the day.
I called Shawn to see if there were any volunteer lunch leftovers. Nada. Then I went to the staff kitchen but everything in the fridge looked like part of someone's lunch, was questionable in age or frozen solid. I resorted to searching my parents offices and even one co-worker's too but all I found was a box of honey-nut cheerios, a can of chili, a can of chunky soup, some saltines and a bunch of candy! No nuts or healthy snack bars. I got kind of panicky and thought about my options. Finally I popped a piece of gum in my mouth like they recommend on The Biggest Loser and believe it or not, I was able to go back to work again!
On the way home my husband posed the question "Do you want to eat out?" It's snowy, I forgot to defrost meat for dinner and I'm starving so I seriously consider this. Trouble is, he wants fast food and I'm thinking something healthy and substantial. We stopped at a bbq rib/chicken place but balked at what it would cost to feed our family. Was I sure McDonald's wouldn't be a good idea? We can eat there for $20. Take me home...I'll make dinner. I say this with an edge in my voice that warns Shawn this is not up for debate.
I ate a Kashi bar and some trail mix when we got home and then defrosted chicken breast, put on the wheat rice and cut up the veggies and we had an excellent stir-fry. My kids don't like stir-fry so I didn't tell them that they could've had McDonald's and I had opted to make one of their least favorite dinners instead. Now that's just cruel.
Spaghetti Squash w/Ground Turkey Meat Sauce
1 Spaghetti Squash, cut into generous pieces, pulp & seeds scraped out
1 lb Ground Turkey, browned & drained
1 Jar White Linen Original Marinara Sauce (Costco)
Basil, Oregano, Sea Salt, Pepper, Olive Oil, Parmesean Cheese
Preheat oven to 350. Sprinkle spices on spaghetti squash and brush with olive oil. Turn down in shallow pan and bake for 40 minutes.
Sprinkle spices in ground turkey and add jar of marinara sauce. Bring to boil and simmer on low until ready to serve.
Place piece of spaghetti squash on plate and spoon a generous serving of meat sauce over it. Use fork & knife to separate squash strands from the rind and mix into sauce. Top with parmesean and enjoy!

No comments:
Post a Comment